Reviews

Folker Magazine:
"Like the debut CD from 2008, the second album from Hannover’s 6-piece Irish folk band is a superb one. Excellent and rumbustious playing, multilayered arrangements of tunes and songs in the best rhythm’n’reel style, interspersed with dashes of other European and North American influences. Sue Sheehan’s voice is a fresh delight with every song."

Irland Journal:
"'On a Single Wing' is the second CD from this Hannover band – and is my No. 1. The song 'Flying on a Single Wing' from which the CD takes its title has been going through my head for days now. The material chosen is a personal selection, with detailed sleeve notes about the tunes and songs. An excellent album and beautifully designed by Eva Giovannini."

Folk World:
"The first tune 'Carillon' by Maìre Breatnach, gives its name to the opening set on the CD, this is followed with one from The Orkney Isles and the track finishes with a tune from County Galway. Flute and fiddle interchange to the beat of the bodhrán, guitar and bouzouki. The title song, by American Robin Batteau, is a gentle ballad, exquisitely sung, and Moccasin Shuffle a brilliantly played set of French Canadian tunes finishing with a piece from The Shetland Isles – highlighting the Emerald six playing music from across the folk world. 'Ladybird' is a wedding waltz by Michael Möllers, written for his brother and followed by a light-footed Scandinavian waltz. My favorite song is 'We Rigged Our Ship' by American songwriter Cindy Kallet, carried away on the wings of gorgeous unaccompanied four-part harmony – then the bodhrán sets the pace for a selection of thrilling tunes and the band sparkles with mighty playing. Another highlight is Carmol Taylor’s frivolous honky tonk song 'I Really Had A Ball Last Night', when the band shows off their versatility. Check out the music of Emerald and you’ll be hooked. Bravo, a great album."

Deutschlandradio Kultur:
"The singer is American Sue Sheehan, whose soft voice offers an elegant counterpart to the driving instrumentals on Emerald’s debut CD 'The Great Divide'. An absolutely wonderful first album."

Folkland Radio:
"CD of the week!"

Irland Journal:
"The tune sets evoke the endless energy of long session nights – a wonderful CD for all fans of Irish-American music."

Folk World:
"This musical gem from Hannover glitters from Irish green to the gold of the American great plains. The instrumental sets awaken fond memories of the DeReelium days. 'The Great Divide' is a fine piece of work and with this debut album, Emerald can take their place at the top of Germany’s Irish music scene."

Kritiken

Folker:
"Wie das Debut von 2008 ist auch der Zweitling des Irish-Folk-Sextetts aus Hannover ein ausgezeichnetes Album. Zugleich mitreißend und sehr fein gespielte, mehrschichtig arrangierte Tunes und Songs in bester Rhythm & Reel Spielweise, immer wieder mit anderen europäischen und nordamerikanischen Einflüssen. Sue Sheehans Stimme begeistert bei jedem Song aufs Neue."

Irland Journal:
"On a Single Wing ist Platte Nummer zwei der Hannoveraner Gruppe. Aber in meinem persönlichen Ranking gehört sie auf Platz 1. Der Song "On a Single Wing" geht mir seit Tagen durch den Kopf. Das Material ist sehr persönlich ausgewählt, und der Besitzer der CD erfährt im Booklet dankenswerterweise auch wie. Eine sehr schöne Platte mit toller Gestaltung von Eva Giovannini."

Folk World:
"'Carillon', ein Tune von Maíre Breatnach, gibt dem ersten Set den Namen, dazu ein Tune von den Orkneys und einer aus Galway, Flute und Fiddle wechseln sich ab zum Rhythmus von Bodhrán, Gitarre und Bouzouki. Der Titelsong des Amerikaners Robin Batteau ist eine sanfte Ballade mit wunderschönem Gesang und 'Mocassin Shuffle' ein virtuos eingespieltes Set mit franko-kanadischen Tunes und einem Stück von den Shetlands. So spielen sich die sechs durch die Welt des Folk, 'Ladybird' ist ein Hochzeitswalzer von Michael für dessen Bruder, gefolgt von einem leichtfüßigen skandinavischen Walzer. Mein Lieblingssong ist 'We rigged our ship' von der amerikanischen Songwriterin Cindy Kallet, er begeistert mit großartigem mehrstimmigem a capella Gesang, die Bodhrán gibt den Pace zu den beiden folgenden mitreißenden Tunes an und die Band brilliert mit tollem Spiel. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt ist Carmol Taylors frivoler Honky-Tonk-Song 'I really had a ball last night', bei dem die Band ihre Vielseitigkeit beweist. Auf der Homepage könnt ihr euch die Musik von Emerald zu Gemüte führen, es zahlt sich aus. Bravo, ein gelungenes Album."

Deutschlandradio Kultur:
"Sängerin der Gruppe ist die Amerikanerin Sue Sheehan, die mit ihrer weichen Stimme bei den Songs einen gelungenen Gegenpart zu den druckvollen Instrumentaltiteln auf der Debüt-CD "The Great Divide" bildet. Ein absolut überzeugender Erstling."

Folkland Radio:
"CD der Woche"

Irland Journal:
"Die Tunesets erinnern an so manche lange Sessionnacht und transportieren die unglaubliche Spielfreude der Musiker ganz hervorragend zum CD-Hörer. Eine wunderbare Platte für alle Fans irisch-amerikanischer Musik."

Folk World:
"Der musikalische Smaragd aus Hannover funkelt vom irischen Grün bis zum Gold der amerikanischen Weiten. Die Instrumental-Sets erinnern aufs Angenehmste an selige DeReelium-Zeiten. "The Great Divide" ist ein gelungenes Werk und Emerald können sich mit ihrem Debütalbum weit oben in der deutschen Irish-Music-Szene einordnen."